Mantis Shrimp glow in the dark

Mantis shrimp use a variety of visual signals in order to communicate with one another. One set of commonly used signaling structures are the antennal scales; flattened, paddle-like structures derived from the second antennae and set on either side of the mantis shrimp’s head. They have a wide range of motion and can be directed at other mantis shrimp as part of intraspecific threat and mating displays. The antennal scales are often adorned with attention grabbing color and polarization patterns that stand out to other visually adept mantis shrimp.

Attenuation of light in water. Adapted from Levine and MacNichol, 1982

However, the deep ocean is not kind to color contrast. As you move deeper, the absorptive and refractive properties of water attenuate the spectrum of available light. Longer and shorter wavelengths are filtered out until eventually the only available light is blue-green, around 480 nanometers in wavelength (left). Despite this limitation, some deep water mantis shrimp have found a way to preserve their color signals in an essentially monochromatic environment.

Lysiosquillina glabriuscula has bright yellow spots on its antennal scales and the underside of its carapace. This species is found in the shallows as well as at greater depths. It turns out that the yellow spots contain fluorescent materials that are stimulated by blue light and emit yellow light, similar to the yellow reflected light that the spots produce in white lighting. Therefore, these mantis shrimp are able to preserve their yellow spot signals at depths where there is only blue light available.

L. glabriuscula in white light (left) and blue light (right). Blue light is filtered out in the second picture in order to better show the green and yellow fluorescence on the animal. Adapted from Mazel et al., 2004

References:

  • Mazel CH, Cronin TW, Caldwell RL, & Marshall NJ (2004). Fluorescent enhancement of signaling in a mantis shrimp. Science (New York, N.Y.), 303 (5654) PMID: 14615546

14 Responses to “Mantis Shrimp glow in the dark”


  1. 1 e-deklaracje 2014 gov July 1, 2013 at 11:51 am

    Hi excellent blog! Does running a blog similar to this require a large amount of work?
    I have no knowledge of computer programming but I was hoping to start
    my own blog soon. Anyhow, if you have any suggestions or techniques for
    new blog owners please share. I know this is off subject nevertheless I simply had to ask.
    Kudos!

  2. 2 http://3yf.gri.bz July 19, 2013 at 9:29 pm

    I’ve been exploring for a bit for any high quality articles or blog posts on this sort of house . Exploring in Yahoo I finally stumbled upon this site. Reading this information So i am happy to show that I’ve a very good uncanny feeling I found out exactly what I needed.
    I most indisputably will make certain to don?t forget
    this site and give it a look regularly.

  3. 3 pit2013 July 19, 2013 at 9:43 pm

    Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your weblog and in accession capital
    to assert that I get actually enjoyed account your blog posts.
    Any way I’ll be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently fast.

  4. 4 darmowy program rozliczenia pit July 22, 2013 at 1:53 pm

    Hey I am so glad I found your site, I really found
    you by error, while I was looking on Yahoo for something else,
    Regardless I am here now and would just like to
    say cheers for a tremendous post and a all round
    entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I
    don’t have time to browse it all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the awesome job.

  5. 5 ulga rehabilitacyjna July 22, 2013 at 9:47 pm

    I am sure this post has touched all the internet visitors, its really really good piece
    of writing on building up new website.

  6. 6 pity 2014 July 23, 2013 at 4:05 pm

    Hi to all, the contents existing at this website are genuinely awesome
    for people knowledge, well, keep up the good work fellows.

  7. 7 rozliczenie pit 2014 July 28, 2013 at 7:04 pm

    I’ve been exploring for a little bit for any high-quality articles or weblog posts in this kind of space . Exploring in Yahoo I eventually stumbled upon this web site. Reading this information So i’m happy to exhibit that
    I have an incredibly just right uncanny feeling I came upon exactly what
    I needed. I so much for sure will make sure to don?
    t overlook this web site and give it a glance regularly.

  8. 8 blue black hair dye September 10, 2013 at 1:15 pm

    Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in
    fact used to be a leisure account it. Look complex to more delivered agreeable from you!
    By the way, how can we be in contact?

  9. 9 karenpatrick1984 March 28, 2014 at 9:06 am

    Iā€™ve even seen glow-in-the-dark salmon before. One reason many people havenā€™t seen luminescent seafood is that they rarely prepare cooked shrimp, crab meat and other products in the dark.

    Karen

  10. 10 Hugh Jackman Workout July 16, 2014 at 1:36 am

    Greetings from California! I’m borerd to death at work
    so I defided to check ouut your site on my ipone during lunch break.
    I love the info yoou pprovide here and can’t wait to take a look
    when I get home. I’m surprised at how quick your blog loaded on my cell pphone
    .. I’m nnot even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, great site!

  11. 11 county for west palm beach fl October 4, 2014 at 2:34 am

    I love what you guys are up too. This sort of
    clever work and exposure! Keep up the good works guys I’ve
    added you guys to my own blogroll.

  12. 12 dining in palm beach fl February 2, 2015 at 3:35 pm

    It’s going to be end of mine day, except before end I am reading this fantastic paragraph to improve my knowledge.


  1. 1 Saturday Links « Myrmecos Blog Trackback on April 3, 2010 at 10:38 am
  2. 2 Gonodactylus platysoma (Gonodactyloidea) « Arthropoda Trackback on July 7, 2010 at 6:56 pm

Leave a comment




I have moved.
Arthropoda can now be found here.

Michael Bok is a graduate student studying the visual system of mantis shrimp.

Flickr Photos