Up close and personal

Check out this gallery of false-colored scanning electron micrographs of insects and arachnids by Steve Gschmeissner. There is so much detail to the portraits of these every-day critters that we don’t usually get to see.

Head of a human flea. Photo: Steve Gschmeissner.

5 Responses to “Up close and personal”


  1. 1 BobK March 9, 2010 at 1:51 pm

    Great pics – I always love colored arthropod SEMs.

  2. 2 Mike Bok March 9, 2010 at 1:57 pm

    Visually and artistically it is a really cool technique, regardless of whether it adds any scientific information to an EM.

  3. 3 BobK March 9, 2010 at 3:24 pm

    Right. Assumedly it is similar to the process of adding color to Hubble photos, that is, mainly aesthetic. I’d love to know how to add color to ant SEMs I’ve made though.

  4. 4 Mike Bok March 9, 2010 at 3:27 pm

    I imagine it is just done with Photoshop, or an equivalent graphic program.

  5. 5 María José López July 20, 2012 at 6:18 am

    do you know something about collembola clasification? I have seen a specimen picture in your internet photos I would to know. Thank you


Leave a comment




I have moved.
Arthropoda can now be found here.

Michael Bok is a graduate student studying the visual system of mantis shrimp.

Flickr Photos