Ultraviolet garden

Following my first proof-of concept attempt at UV photography yesterday, I went out around campus again today with a tripod and remote. I got some much better shots of flowers and the campus. This time I’ve left the photos exactly as they came off the camera. Near violet UV records in the blue channel, and deeper UV in the red channel (For reference the dandelion outer ring has a reflectance peak around 350 nm, recorded here in the red channel).

A newly opening dandelion with the strong UV ring.


A white clover flower.


Unknown white flowers with little UV. Anyone know what they are?


Buttercups also have a strong UV pattern.


Ultraviolet campus

7 Responses to “Ultraviolet garden”


  1. 1 Ted C. MacRae May 5, 2010 at 11:08 pm

    The buttercups are really different from their visible light appearance.

  2. 2 Mike Bok May 6, 2010 at 11:25 am

    Yeah, they were a nice surprise to see on the preview screen; very striking.

  3. 3 Roberta May 12, 2010 at 5:04 pm

    I have always wanted to try this. It is helpful to see your results with different techniques.

  4. 4 Mike Bok May 13, 2010 at 11:34 pm

    Roberta, this website has a lot of useful info about UV photography.

    http://www.naturfotograf.com/uvstart.html

    Just don’t get confused by his photos. The red areas he has in the center of the flowers are not the UV reflectance, the white parts are. He does some post processing to get the shots to look like that (and it confused the hell out of me at first).

  5. 5 Vena Topness March 1, 2014 at 1:05 pm

    Hiya, I am really glad I have found this info. Nowadays bloggers publish only about gossips
    and internet and this is actually frustrating.
    A good site with interesting content, that’s what I need. Thank
    you for keeping this web-site, I will be visiting it. Do you do newsletters?
    Cant find it.

  6. 6 home August 30, 2016 at 10:39 pm

    Quality articles or reviews is the key to attract the people to pay a quick visit
    the web page, that’s what this website is providing.

  7. 7 seo tools cracked September 13, 2016 at 4:31 pm

    Hey there I am so thrilled I found your blog, I really
    found you by error, while I was searching on Google for something else, Nonetheless I am here now
    and would just like to say many thanks for a fantastic post and a all rouund
    interesting blog (I also love the theme/design),I don’t have time
    to go through itt all at the minute but I have book-marked iit and also added your
    RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more,
    Please do keep up the excellent jo.


Leave a Reply

I have moved.
Arthropoda can now be found here.

Michael Bok is a graduate student studying the visual system of mantis shrimp.

Flickr Photos


