First attempt at UV photography

Here is my very first attempt at ultraviolet photography. The was taken with a Nikon D1H with a UV Nikkor 105 lens and filter glass for blocking visible and infrared light (400 nm and up). I took this with a half second exposure and no tripod and remote, so it is a bit blurry. The dandelion, like many flowers, has a distinct UV ring pattern that is visible to many insect pollinators. Here, reflected UV light is false colored white.

My first UV photo of a dandelion.

I really wish I had gotten a more stable shot since there is also an ant visiting the center of the flower.

6 Responses to “First attempt at UV photography”


  1. 1 karen May 14, 2010 at 9:18 am

    That’s a lovely shot, well done

  2. 2 wedding video November 12, 2010 at 7:59 pm

    It reminds me of infrared photography. I think you had to set it stlightly out of focus and use a red filter, gave amazing skys.
    Great shot a real bee’s eye veiw

  3. 3 www.pinterest.com March 1, 2014 at 1:03 pm

    Whats Going down i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I have found It absolutely helpful and it has aided me out loads.
    I’m hoping to give a contribution & help different customers like its helped me.
    Great job.

  4. 4 Alton August 12, 2014 at 8:52 am

    What’s up, this weekend is pleasant for me, since
    this occasion i am reading this great informative paragraph here at my residence.

  5. 5 real higgins lake August 21, 2014 at 4:31 pm

    I simply could not leave yiur website prior to suggesting that I
    really enjoyed the usual information an individual supply
    onn your visitors? Is gonna be again oftern in order to inspect new posts


  1. 1 Ultraviolet garden « Arthropoda Trackback on May 5, 2010 at 10:51 am

Leave a Reply

I have moved.
Arthropoda can now be found here.

Michael Bok is a graduate student studying the visual system of mantis shrimp.

Flickr Photos

Florence

20150705-PANO_20150705_160703.jpg

20150704-IMG_8004.jpg

20150703-PANO_20150703_162928.jpg

Tilty Tower

Megalomma interrupta

Bispira brunnea

Protula

Sunset through the Brandenburg Tor

Skåne Sunset

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

