Adobe Photoshop CS5: Now with witchcraft!

The new version of the indispensable Photoshop image editor came out a couple days ago, and includes an unbelievable feature called Content Aware Fill. According to Adobe:

We have developed interactive image editing tools using a new randomized algorithm for quickly finding approximate nearest neighbor matches between image patches.

Essentially it removes unwanted items from an image instantly and seamlessly. Alterations that used to take a skilled Photoshop user hours to preform are completed in seconds with almost no competence required. Watch these videos; and if image editing is a time consuming part of your work, prepare to pick your jaw up off the floor.

This one starts off with minor tweaks, like removing lens flare and bits of trash from a scene, but skip to the middle or so to see the ridiculously awesome stuff.

This video shows how great this is for easily toughing up images.

There is a better explanation of how Content Aware Fill works, here. I prefer to think it uses witchcraft or is the rudimentary self-aware beginnings of Skynet. Run for it, Sarah Connor.

11 Responses to “Adobe Photoshop CS5: Now with witchcraft!”


  1. 1 Ted C. MacRae April 15, 2010 at 11:29 pm

    Geez, that’s pretty amazing stuff!

  2. 2 Kevin Z April 16, 2010 at 10:47 am

    Holy ZOMG! That will save me hours when I edit images for species descriptions. ( and blogging of course)

    Cool!

  3. 3 Kate Feller April 16, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    Photoshop does magic?!

  4. 4 Isabel April 20, 2010 at 6:15 pm

    Getting rid of the lens flares and matching the sky gradation was amazing indeed, and worth the price of the update, but the trash would have been easy to remove with current tools; the cropping obviously irrelevant to the new tool; the desert looked strange, and why would anyone do that? and the last sky did not look natural at all.

  5. 7 hauling April 19, 2014 at 10:51 am

    I get pleasure from, lead to I found just what I
    was looking for. You have ended my four day long hunt! God Bless you man.
    Have a great day. Bye

  6. 8 adobe photoshop cs5 crack July 25, 2014 at 3:54 pm

    Hey there I am so delighted I found your webpage, I really found
    you by accident, while I was searching on Bing for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to say thank
    you for a tremendous post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and also added your RSS feeds,
    so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the great job.

  7. 9 beginners August 22, 2014 at 2:12 am

    I was curious if you ever thought of changing the page layout of your blog?

    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better.
    Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1 or 2 pictures.

    Maybe you could space it out better?


  1. 1 Some cool panoramas from Lizard Island « Arthropoda Trackback on June 30, 2010 at 4:00 pm
  2. 2 spanish ice skating class in cupertino Trackback on June 26, 2014 at 6:17 pm

Leave a comment




I have moved.
Arthropoda can now be found here.

Michael Bok is a graduate student studying the visual system of mantis shrimp.

Flickr Photos