It Came from the Reef Tank #1: Ostracod

I am going to start a running catalogue of the diverse arthropod microfauna of my reef tank. Here is my first attempt to capture one of these tiny animals. This is a sediment-dwelling ostracod, about 250 microns in carapace length.

Ostracod, the white stuff around him is detritus.

I know, ugly photo, but this was a first attempt. Can anyone ID it further? The rubble in the tank was aquacultured on the gulf coast of Florida, but this little guy could have hopped on at the fish store.

More about Ostracods in my next post.

1 Response to “It Came from the Reef Tank #1: Ostracod”


  1. 1 dragonflywoman April 20, 2010 at 11:51 pm

    Wow! I didn’t realize that there were marine ostracods! I see them all the time in my aquatic insect samples, but they’re all freshwater forms. I guess I’d always assumed that they were all freshwater. Thanks for teaching me something new!


Leave a Reply

I have moved.
Arthropoda can now be found here.

Michael Bok is a graduate student studying the visual system of mantis shrimp.

Flickr Photos


