Arthropoda ID (#1)

For a while I’ve wanted to start up a weekly arthropod identification challenge, and I now think my readership is high enough to give it a try.

The idea is: Once a week I’ll post a photo or video of an arthropod that I’m planning to talk about. When someone figures out what it is, I’ll follow up with a post about the animal’s biology.

Let’s start with an easy one:

If you think you know who this little beastie is, leave a comment. Family name or specific common name will probably be acceptable if the exact species is unclear from the photo. Good luck.

________________________________________

Correct family name by zombieroach.
Answer: Sunburst Diving Beetle, Thermonectus marmoratus (highlight)
Photo from Mandapaka et al., 2006.

I foolishly underestimated you guys. From now on I’m gonna require at least the correct genus.

7 Responses to “Arthropoda ID (#1)”


  1. 1 Christopher Taylor March 24, 2010 at 10:39 pm

    Nevrorthidae, I believe. Couldn’t tell you the species.

  2. 2 Mike Bok March 24, 2010 at 10:58 pm

    That’s actually a good guess, but not quite.

    I hadn’t seen a Neuropteran larvae before, and there is a definitely a strong resemblance.

  3. 3 zombieroach March 24, 2010 at 11:16 pm

    It’s a Dytiscid beetle, I think in the genus Dytiscus.

  4. 4 zombieroach March 24, 2010 at 11:24 pm

    Actually, I change my genus guess to Cybister

  5. 5 Mike Bok March 24, 2010 at 11:28 pm

    Yep, its a Dytiscid. Specifically the larval form of the Sunburst Diving Beetle, Thermonectus marmoratus.

    Nice work zombieroach.

    Tomorrow I’ll have a post about the truly weird visual system of these predaceous beetle larvae

  6. 6 zombieroach March 25, 2010 at 10:22 am

    Yeah, don’t give me credit for Family. That’s the easy part.

    (Thermonectus was my next guess)


  1. 1 Beware the water tigers « Arthropoda Trackback on March 26, 2010 at 5:27 pm

Leave a Reply

I have moved.
Arthropoda can now be found here.

Michael Bok is a graduate student studying the visual system of mantis shrimp.

Flickr Photos


