You know what you don’t usually see in the snow?

Hexapods!


Hexapods are a superclass of arthropods that are likely nested within the crustaceans, forming The subphylum pancrustacea. The most notable hexapods are insects and springtails.

Check out this cool *ducks* article by Rich Wolf. It talks about snow fleas, a type of hexapod springtail that often gather on snow to feed on microorganisms.

I just realized that I’ve been doing an arthropod blog for two months and this is the first post about the Hexapod group. Next week will be “Hexapod Week”, with a post a day about these flying crustaceans. I’ve got lots of good stuff to talk about from today’s evolutionary divergence symposium; including how we got pubic lice from gorillas! However, first I have a phylogenetic can of worms to open on this blog… Coming this weekend: An explanation of the current state of arthropod phylogenetics.

10 Responses to “You know what you don’t usually see in the snow?”


  1. 1 Ted C. MacRae January 9, 2010 at 10:32 am

    I hope this “can of worms” includes discussion of hexapod nesting within Crustacea. I’m intrigued by the idea that my beloved beetles are nothing more than “flying crusties”!

  2. 2 Mike Bok January 9, 2010 at 11:00 am

    I wouldn’t say they are “nothing more” than flying crustaceans. Beetles and other insects are awesome animals too. It just may be the case that they arose from a crustacean ancestor.

  3. 3 the link May 7, 2012 at 1:35 am

    coal tar extract
    the truth is, not that I’ve got much left, but I was yanking my hair out looking to find things relevant to pictures of psoriasis this month then right when I was getting ready to surrender your site presents itself out of the blue

  4. 4 Lorena March 16, 2014 at 6:06 am

    Hi this is kinda of off topic but I was wondering if blogs
    use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML.
    I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding experience so I wanted
    to get guidance from someone with experience.
    Any help would be enormously appreciated!

  5. 5 arthritis awareness charm September 8, 2014 at 9:46 pm

    Great blog here! Additionally your site rather a lot up very fast!
    What web host are you the use of? Can I get your associate link on your host?
    I wish my web site loaded up as fast as yours lol

  6. 6 Free Samples October 9, 2014 at 12:31 am

    It is not my first time to go to see this web site, i am visiting this web
    site dailly and take nice facts from here daily.

  7. 7 Source December 27, 2015 at 6:46 pm

    I don’t knpw iff it’s just me or if perhaps everyone
    else experiencing problems with your website. It seems
    like some of the text in your content are running off thhe screen. Caan somebody
    else please commenht and let me know if this is happening to them as
    well? This might be a problem with my internet browser because I’ve had this happen before.
    Cheers

  8. 8 seo June 10, 2016 at 2:25 am

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts on news.Regards


  1. 1 Arthropod news roundup « Arthropoda Trackback on January 20, 2010 at 5:29 pm
  2. 2 best Gaithersburg SEO Company Trackback on October 1, 2014 at 6:32 am

Leave a Reply

I have moved.
Arthropoda can now be found here.

Michael Bok is a graduate student studying the visual system of mantis shrimp.

Flickr Photos


