Arthropoda ID (#3)

OK, this time I’m totally stumping all the smart-guys/gals who crushed my last two attempts at ID contests.

*crosses-fingers*

Who am I?

Leave a comment if you can guess the species…

9 Responses to “Arthropoda ID (#3)”


  1. 1 myrmecos April 9, 2010 at 1:19 pm

    Um. A bicycle chain? That grew a head? I have no idea.

  2. 2 zombieroach April 12, 2010 at 12:16 am

    WTF? Is that supposed to be an arthropod?

  3. 3 Mike Bok April 12, 2010 at 12:40 am

    Oh yeah, it’s not a bicycle chain, it’s an adult arthropod.

  4. 4 zombieroach April 12, 2010 at 9:20 pm

    I admit defeat

  5. 6 zombieroach April 13, 2010 at 1:33 am

    Well, I bet its in Pentastomida (which I had never heard of). I’ll look into it more tomorrow.

  6. 7 Adrian Thysse April 14, 2010 at 11:13 am

    Looks like a Wimberly Plamp (Clampus articulatus)

  7. 8 Mike Bok April 14, 2010 at 11:33 am

    Hah! I’m liking the wild guesses.

    Zombie roach is right in that it is a pentastomid. I’m going to be doing a post about the massive weirdness of Oligostracans, which includes these guys, as well as ostracods and other such strangeness.

  8. 9 DeAnna April 21, 2010 at 3:03 pm

    I looked at it and thought of the Grey’s Anatomy episode where I guy came in with a fish in his penis.

    My guess a member of the genus Armillifer ??


Leave a Reply

I have moved.
Arthropoda can now be found here.

Michael Bok is a graduate student studying the visual system of mantis shrimp.

Flickr Photos

View from atop South Island

Turtle and remora

Lizard Island lagoon panorama

Coral

Wind surfer over the reef, taken from atop South Island

Another Lizard Island Sunset

Odontodactylus latirostris

Mandarin

Lowest tide I have seen at Lizard Island  (-0.11 m)

Nudibranch

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

