Aww, I hurt Squid-Man’s delicate feelings

PZ Myers, my original science blogging hero, was disturbed by the video I posted (gloatingly) of some Stomatopod on Cephalopod ass-whooping.

You know, the rotten little crunchy, jointed thing wouldn’t have stood a chance if he’d been fighting within his own weight-class. I found this video on a blog called Arthropoda — a clearly biased advocacy site for violence on molluscs by the world’s dominant, bullying metazoans. -PZ

OK, let’s give the squishy a size advantage over my favorite mantis shrimp, Hemisquilla californiensis.

Ha-Ha! Run for your life, softy!

Seriously though, I am very suspicious of that video. The octopus seems lethargic and completely uninterested in the mantis shrimp. I get the feeling that the filmmakers are constantly pushing the octopus back towards the burrow as it is trying to get away.

Regardless, the score is still:

Maybe this will make the Tentacled-One feel better though…

NOOOOOOOOOooooooooo......... Photo: Roy Caldwell

We don’t get to see for certain that the mantis shrimp in that photo gets eaten. Personally, I imagine a Rocky IV-style, final round recovery from the crustacean.

4 Responses to “Aww, I hurt Squid-Man’s delicate feelings”


  1. 1 Spirula March 7, 2010 at 3:26 pm

    I agree. The octopus seems to be behaving oddly. But I did like the mantid’s “dust off” near the end.

  2. 2 Lulziguncula May 20, 2010 at 6:09 pm

    I’m torn between the deep admiration I feel for PZ Myers, the burning love I have for cephalopods in general, and my obsession with mantis shrimp. Can’t crunchies and squishies just get along?


  1. 1 Even Tiny Copepods Are More Awesome Than a Slimey Mollusc | Deep Sea News Trackback on March 10, 2010 at 8:22 am
  2. 2 Disney murders a crab « Arthropoda Trackback on April 22, 2010 at 3:05 pm

Leave a Reply

I have moved.
Arthropoda can now be found here.

Michael Bok is a graduate student studying the visual system of mantis shrimp.

Flickr Photos

Fire in the Eye

View from atop South Island

Turtle and remora

Lizard Island lagoon panorama

Coral

Wind surfer over the reef, taken from atop South Island

Another Lizard Island Sunset

Odontodactylus latirostris

Mandarin

Lowest tide I have seen at Lizard Island  (-0.11 m)

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

